How to Wipe Windows PC before Selling It

PC-Wipe-Reset.jpg

When I bought a new PC and considered to sell the old one, I was wondering how could I safely sell it without leaking my personal information stored on the old device. I also needed to erase the registration information for the software which I paid money to use. Well, the most recommended way is to wipe my old PC and restore it to a factory fresh state. As my old device was running Windows 10, I only look for the solution for this OS and take it as an example in this tutorial.

Before wiping the PC you gonna sell, don’t forget to backup the files you wanna keep. You could drag all the stuffs onto an external storage device, or use reliable cloud storage to save your documents. Besides, it is necessary for me to dig out the serial numbers of my currently installed software (after all, I paid much on this part :p).

After all these preparation have been done, the reset steps can be performed now.

  1. Open the Settings in Windows, and then choose Update and Security > Recovery.
  2. Under the Reset This PC entry on the right pane, click the Get Started button.
  3. Select the Remove Everything button when you are asked to choose an option.
  4. Follow the onscreen instructions to restore Windows 10 to a factory fresh state.

That’s all for resetting Windows 10 PC to a factory state. Once you’ve done that, all your user account and personal files will be wiped out, and Windows 10 will install itself on the computer as a fresh one, which may take a while to complete.

Now you are supposed to remove your PC from account.microsoft.com/devices.

Erasing the hard drive is more secure to keep your data from being recovered by the new owner of your old device, though it could be a little complicated to complete. If you are interested, I will update the article with detailed information.

Leave a Reply

